MOCpages : Share your LEGO® creations
LEGO models my own creation MOCpages toys shop DA3: Beyond Thunderdome Military
Welcome to the world's greatest LEGO fan community!
Explore cool creations, share your own, and have lots of fun together.  ~  It's all free!
Conversation »
QUESTIONS? 4: Ghost Protocol
 Group admin 
It's time for another exciting lightning-round of questions!

This is the ONE and ONLY thread to get your questions answered about DA3.

Do NOT rely on the wit and wisdom of former or current players, no matter how well intentioned or informed they may be. If you didn't read it in the rules or in this thread, it doesn't apply to DA3.

VETERANS: Do not answer questions in this thread, they will be deleted without warning or explanation.

Any general conversation, suggestions, or off topic banter will be deleted without warning or explanation. Please refer to the "General Conversation" or "House of Smack" discussion threads for your other communicative needs.

Permalink
| April 9, 2018, 8:36 pm
Can we name the second attack window "Attack Window 2: Electric Boogaloo"?
Permalink
| April 9, 2018, 8:40 pm
Quoting Zach Sweigart
Can we name the second attack window "Attack Window 2: Electric Boogaloo"?

Or how about "Oh my giant blue head!"
Permalink
| April 9, 2018, 8:42 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Zach Sweigart
Can we name the second attack window "Attack Window 2: Electric Boogaloo"?

We've never subtitled the Attack Windows in previous games but it is tempting...
Permalink
| April 9, 2018, 8:43 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
Or how about "Oh my giant blue head!"

I didn't know there was a sequel to Watchmen.
Permalink
| April 9, 2018, 8:45 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
I didn't know there was a sequel to Watchmen.

Huh? That was from the movie Megamind xd
Permalink
| April 9, 2018, 8:50 pm
For CAT2, Is it okay if I build a round wall which encircles the whole room, or does it have to strictly be only three walls? Also, may I add a ceiling?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 1:29 am
For CAT3, can I build a city with my capitol building too? Or can it only be the building?


Also, I believe this was asked before, but can I build it on a 32x32 baseplate, where the extra is just border?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 1:37 am
Heyy the next attack window should be "AW 2: Tilted Towers"
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 2:13 am
For me, next atack window will definitely be called - the battle for B1 )))
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 2:47 am
For category four APC may we have wheels mixed with tracks?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 7:46 am
 Group moderator 
Quoting W Navarre
For category four APC may we have wheels mixed with tracks?

I'll quote Goldman just to be safe: http://www.moc-pages.com/group_conversation.php?id=26364&topicid=107544#comment-1757657
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 8:30 am
 Group moderator 
Quoting * Joey4026 *
For CAT2, Is it okay if I build a round wall which encircles the whole room, or does it have to strictly be only three walls? Also, may I add a ceiling?

A round wall would look cool, but it should just be 3 walls. A ceiling is fine if it doesn't obscure your photography.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 8:31 am
 Group moderator 
Quoting Daniel H.
For CAT3, can I build a city with my capitol building too? Or can it only be the building?


Also, I believe this was asked before, but can I build it on a 32x32 baseplate, where the extra is just border?

I will let one of the other two get back to you on the first question.

I can answer the second question though, and you're right on track. Just leave a 1-stud border empty to effectively reduce the MOC dimensions to 30x30 and you're good.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 8:38 am
I have one question:

Earlier I asked whether it is acceptable to build multiple MOCs to satisfy a particular category and switch them into the ORBAT depending on which one garnered the most likes. The DAS at that point said that not only was it allowed, but it was encouraged. I am wondering, though, whether the flag is one exception to that rule. Can a nation re-build their flag without declaring a regime change? Heck, Canada did it in 1964.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:03 am
 Group moderator 
Quoting Mark B.
I have one question:

Earlier I asked whether it is acceptable to build multiple MOCs to satisfy a particular category and switch them into the ORBAT depending on which one garnered the most likes. The DAS at that point said that not only was it allowed, but it was encouraged. I am wondering, though, whether the flag is one exception to that rule. Can a nation re-build their flag without declaring a regime change? Heck, Canada did it in 1964.

Good question, and good clarification. As far as I know, any flag change is subject to a regime change, so that is indeed an exception to the earlier discussion. At least there are 14 other categores you can iterate. If you want to reply to a different DAS member directly to get their input, I wouldn't mind, and you might get a different response.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:48 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Daniel H.
For CAT3, can I build a city with my capitol building too? Or can it only be the building?


Also, I believe this was asked before, but can I build it on a 32x32 baseplate, where the extra is just border?

1.) You can add whatever you want to the build, so long as the basic SPECs are met and you don't exceed the established dimensions of the category.

2.) Yes, so long as youj leave a 1-stud border of the 32x32 baseplate empty to effectively reduce the MOC dimensions to 30x30.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:52 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Mark B.
I have one question:

Earlier I asked whether it is acceptable to build multiple MOCs to satisfy a particular category and switch them into the ORBAT depending on which one garnered the most likes. The DAS at that point said that not only was it allowed, but it was encouraged. I am wondering, though, whether the flag is one exception to that rule. Can a nation re-build their flag without declaring a regime change? Heck, Canada did it in 1964.

CSM VAkkron is correct, any alteration to a National Flag after a player owns at least 1 territory on the map is considered a Regime Change. It is the one category that cannot be rebuilt without a consequence. I will update the the rules to clarify this concept, thanks.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:55 am
Another question:

I think it was stated earlier that the attacks are resolved sequentially, although MILPO is determined once, at the beginning of an attack window. Suppose, though, that a player gets wiped out before its first attack is resolved. Is that attack cancelled, or is it still resolved, with the player potentially regaining a territory after losing everything?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 10:53 am
Quoting Keith Goldman
1.) You can add whatever you want to the build, so long as the basic SPECs are met and you don't exceed the established dimensions of the category.

2.) Yes, so long as youj leave a 1-stud border of the 32x32 baseplate empty to effectively reduce the MOC dimensions to 30x30.

Wicked! Thanks!
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 11:56 am
And one more question:

For the purpose of satisfying requirement 2 for CAT 10 (wings at 2 distinct angles), would deploying dive brakes be sufficient?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 12:48 pm
Um... why did Ruthford delete his account..?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 12:53 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
Um... why did Ruthford delete his account..?

Stand by. I’ll be making an announcement around 1pm (PDT).
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 1:21 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Mark B.
Another question:

I think it was stated earlier that the attacks are resolved sequentially, although MILPO is determined once, at the beginning of an attack window. Suppose, though, that a player gets wiped out before its first attack is resolved. Is that attack cancelled, or is it still resolved, with the player potentially regaining a territory after losing everything?

If a nation is eliminated from play (no more territories) before his or her attack, that attack is void and the player is defeated.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 3:21 pm
Who's gonna be the stand in for Rutherford?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 4:48 pm
Quoting Zach Sweigart
Can we name the second attack window "Attack Window 2: Electric Boogaloo"?

I love'd Break'n 2
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 4:50 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Northern Imperial AKA-Lord Bacca
Who's gonna be the stand in for Rutherford?

Go read the Priority Coms thread. This is really the wrong day to annoy me with a bunch of questions. I've said all I care to on the topic of Rutherford.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 4:51 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Go read the Priority Coms thread. This is really the wrong day to annoy me with a bunch of questions. I've said all I care to on the topic of Rutherford.

Sorry boss man.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 4:52 pm
Is it still possible to exclude naval power from both players's MILPO when attacking adjacent coastal territories?
(like if the attacker says they attack without their navy, or if they don't have one)
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 6:32 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Sam Sanister
Is it still possible to exclude naval power from both players's MILPO when attacking adjacent coastal territories?
(like if the attacker says they attack without their navy, or if they don't have one)

No. The “no navy” rule from DA2 is NOT in effect. If a defender has naval units, he or she is always entitled to use them. Fighters launch off carriers, PT Boats zip up rivers, etc.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 6:52 pm
1. Can we reuse minifigs from previous MOCs like, say, Metal Legion?

2. DoD uplo figs pass as minifigs?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 7:22 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Master Shifu Leo J
1. Can we reuse minifigs from previous MOCs like, say, Metal Legion?

2. DoD uplo figs pass as minifigs?

1. Yes, so long as they’ve never been used in DA3.

2. No
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 7:37 pm
It got a no go for not having wings? You only say wings, and many times you say the rest is up to the builder, in my opinion the V shape wing form in flight mode is wings. If I remember correctly Oliver becker has hover jets not wings, but that got a go. I just really dont see how those aren't wings, they aren't conventional or normal wings, but they are wings. I do hope you reconsider. To quote you "your Ground Attack Aircraft requires wings that must be photographed at 2 distinct angles. (up/down, straight/swept back, etc.)" that doesn't say it requires conventional or normal wings. I just simply do not understand those do not qualify.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:00 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
It got a no go for not having wings? You only say wings, and many times you say the rest is up to the builder, in my opinion the V shape wing form in flight mode is wings. If I remember correctly Oliver becker has hover jets not wings, but that got a go. I just really dont see how those aren't wings, they aren't conventional or normal wings, but they are wings. I do hope you reconsider. To quote you "your Ground Attack Aircraft requires wings that must be photographed at 2 distinct angles. (up/down, straight/swept back, etc.)" that doesn't say it requires conventional or normal wings. I just simply do not understand those do not qualify.

Oliver Becker's airplane clearly has wings, in my opinion yours does not. Its one thing to push these categories to be as special and creative as possible, its' another to completely ignore the spirit of the thing you're trying to build. I thought it was a boat or APC when I first looked at it, thus my initial confusion. I don't accept those as wings and your model will remain DQ'd until you fix it.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:21 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Oliver Becker's airplane clearly has wings, in my opinion yours does not. Its one thing to push these categories to be as special and creative as possible, its' another to completely ignore the spirit of the thing you're trying to build. I thought it was a boat or APC when I first looked at it, thus my initial confusion. I don't accept those as wings and your model will remain DQ'd until you fix it.

:(

Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:24 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Oliver Becker's airplane clearly has wings, in my opinion yours does not. Its one thing to push these categories to be as special and creative as possible, its' another to completely ignore the spirit of the thing you're trying to build. I thought it was a boat or APC when I first looked at it, thus my initial confusion. I don't accept those as wings and your model will remain DQ'd until you fix it.

May i ask, did you think it was a boat by first looking at its hovercraft mode? And would would have to be done to make it specification accurate? Because i can no longer trust my own judgement on what is and what isnt
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:26 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
May i ask, did you think it was a boat by first looking at its hovercraft mode? And would would have to be done to make it specification accurate? Because i can no longer trust my own judgement on what is and what isnt

The confusion started with you title, which was very close to APC, then my confusion increased when I saw what you called wings, then even moreso when it's a mech and then some kind of boat. It's an airplane. Make an airplane.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:29 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting General Gunn ~
May i ask, did you think it was a boat by first looking at its hovercraft mode? And would would have to be done to make it specification accurate? Because i can no longer trust my own judgement on what is and what isnt

Trial and error is always a decent option. One possibility is to do a web search on "airplane", "wing", or something similar. You probably know what you'll end up seeing. Not to be rude to you, but CDR Goldman at least gave you pretty specific improvement suggestions. It shouldn't be a difficult change.

I would think about it this way. Wings are used for lift. Lift requires surface area. Maybe that helps?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:30 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
The confusion started with you title, which was very close to APC, then my confusion increased when I saw what you called wings, then even moreso when it's a mech and then some kind of boat. It's an airplane. Make an airplane.

are you saying i couldnt fix this into an airplane..?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:31 pm
Quoting VAkkron ™
Trial and error is always a decent option. One possibility is to do a web search on "airplane", "wing", or something similar. You probably know what you'll end up seeing. Not to be rude to you, but CDR Goldman at least gave you pretty specific improvement suggestions. It shouldn't be a difficult change.

I would think about it this way. Wings are used for lift. Lift requires surface area. Maybe that helps?

It does help, but if you look at Oliver Becker/Zach, those are thrusters. Now i may be wrong, but i have never seen a plane that can fly with just thrusters.

Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:33 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
are you saying i couldnt fix this into an airplane..?

Yes, by all means add some wings and I'll be happy to evaluate it again.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:34 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
It does help, but if you look at Oliver Becker/Zach, those are thrusters. Now i may be wrong, but i have never seen a plane that can fly with just thrusters.

Worry about your own builds and let the DAS worry about Oliver Becker.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:34 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Yes, by all means add some wings and I'll be happy to evaluate it again.

I will add wings, is it allowed to transform though?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:35 pm
Hmmm, maybe it's not the right time to ask, but with my APC, can it be a mix of wheeled and tracked? Or just wheeled or just tracked. And if it wheeled and tracked is allowed how many wheels and tracks are required?
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:35 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
I will add wings, is it allowed to transform though?

Sure, as long as it has wings.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:37 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting Zach Lucia
Hmmm, maybe it's not the right time to ask, but with my APC, can it be a mix of wheeled and tracked? Or just wheeled or just tracked. And if it wheeled and tracked is allowed how many wheels and tracks are required?

A mix is fine. A couple people have asked this already, I know W. Navarre did already today, but just to abbreviate, you have to meet both specs if you do treads & wheels. That means 6 wheels, treads, and a spare tire plus a spare length of tread.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:38 pm
 Group moderator 
 Group admin 
Quoting Zach Lucia
Hmmm, maybe it's not the right time to ask, but with my APC, can it be a mix of wheeled and tracked? Or just wheeled or just tracked. And if it wheeled and tracked is allowed how many wheels and tracks are required?

Your timing is fine. It's been established that you can use both but you still have to include 6 wheels and you have to include spare tire and a section of spare track. The size of the tracked section is up to the builder.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:38 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Sure, as long as it has wings.

Would the wings still be allowed to have a few holes? But not fully Hollow
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:38 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
Would the wings still be allowed to have a few holes? But not fully Hollow

I don't know...build it and I'll look. It depends on if it looks like a wing to me. It's a judgment call.
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:40 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Your timing is fine. It's been established that you can use both but you still have to include 6 wheels and you have to include spare tire and a section of spare track. The size of the tracked section is up to the builder.

Darn, that's on me for not asking sooner. Time for a rebuild!
Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 9:50 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
May i do thrusters like Zach/Oliver? I really cant find a way to make "wings"

Gunn you are wearing me out, and you really have no situational awareness to pick this fight today. I'm not going to answer that question, either try something new and figure out what wings are, or skip the category. We're done with this topic until you have something to actually show me.

Permalink
| April 10, 2018, 10:34 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
No. The “no navy” rule from DA2 is NOT in effect. If a defender has naval units, he or she is always entitled to use them. Fighters launch off carriers, PT Boats zip up rivers, etc.

What if the two coastal territories have separate SZs?
e.g. Player A has 1 coastal territory, A7, and attacks Player B, in A5?
They have separate Sea Zones, and Player A doesn't have the CTs necessary to cross those.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 12:26 am
Quoting Keith Goldman
Gunn you are wearing me out, and you really have no situational awareness to pick this fight today. I'm not going to answer that question, either try something new and figure out what wings are, or skip the category. We're done with this topic until you have something to actually show me.

Where was all this fight when you were so intimidated you said you were going to quit before the game began? Where was it when you were too overwhelmed to pick a starting territory? Look, I'm glad you finally found your stones but you're picking the wrong hill to die on.

My apologies, I over reacted. I will hopefully get a new version up tomorrow. As i said before, my apologies, you already have enough on your hands running this (and i thank you very much for running it) and you definitely dont need me being a pain in the rear
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 1:06 am
For Category 10; must all the weapons systems be attached all at once or can their be differing loadouts?
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 2:53 am
Regarding speed and milpo during attack.

Does milpo change in any way during attack?

Say Tom and I each have 2 territories and milpo of 100.

If he attacks one of mine first (and let's assume he'll take it despite the even numbers) will his milpo go to 105 and mine drop to 95 before my attack? Or do the milpo changes take effect only after attack phase is done?
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 4:18 am
 Group moderator 
Quoting Ron L. Mitchell
For Category 10; must all the weapons systems be attached all at once or can their be differing loadouts?

There must be 3 weapons systems featured at any time. You can have more than three that you swap out, but then make sure to identify them, otherwise some pictures will look not up to spec.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 8:58 am
 Group moderator 
Quoting P. Andrei
Regarding speed and milpo during attack.

Does milpo change in any way during attack?

Say Tom and I each have 2 territories and milpo of 100.

If he attacks one of mine first (and let's assume he'll take it despite the even numbers) will his milpo go to 105 and mine drop to 95 before my attack? Or do the milpo changes take effect only after attack phase is done?

There is no MILPO degredation during an attack window due to a elapsed time. Your attacking MILPO is always divided based on how many times you attack and your defending MILPO is divided based on how many times you are attacked. Besides that and sea range penalties, nothing else changes your MILPO. I don't remember who wins in the event of a tie, but I'm pretty sure it's the defender. I think the rules specify that.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 9:04 am
 Group moderator 
Quoting P. Andrei
Regarding speed and milpo during attack.

Does milpo change in any way during attack?

Say Tom and I each have 2 territories and milpo of 100.

If he attacks one of mine first (and let's assume he'll take it despite the even numbers) will his milpo go to 105 and mine drop to 95 before my attack? Or do the milpo changes take effect only after attack phase is done?

Oh and if you were referring to territory bonuses? I'm not sure how that works, let's ask Keith.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 9:05 am
Yeah, I was asking about territory bonuses. As Keith said attacks are done in the order they were initiated, so if Tom attacked me first by the time my attack happens, I'd have one less territory and he'd have one extra.

Basically the question is whether speed plays any role other than being unable to attack a territory that was already attacked.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 10:50 am
When exactly is the next Attack Window? I think I heard that it happens on Fridays at 1:00, and I would guess that's EST? It lasts 24 hours right?
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 11:24 am
Here's another question. When you say Machine Gun Turret what all does this involve? Is an anti-aircraft gun turret valid? Sorry, this is mostly just my lack of familiarity with these military terminologies.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 11:50 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Sam Sanister
What if the two coastal territories have separate SZs?
e.g. Player A has 1 coastal territory, A7, and attacks Player B, in A5?
They have separate Sea Zones, and Player A doesn't have the CTs necessary to cross those.


In your example:

- Player A can still attack A5, he just can't use his naval weapons.

- Player B is entitled to use his navy in defense. PT boats go up rivers, fighters launch off carriers, battleships can fire their guns inland etc.

You can't attack with your navy until you have 3 coastal territories and a Logistics Landing Craft, but you can always defend with your navy. That was Rutherford's call for DA3 and I'm going to stick with it. He is the architect of the rules and it is my intention to maintain those decisions for the remainder of this iteration. If DA4 happens, I'll look at reinstating the "no navy" rule depending on how it goes here.

Hope that helps.

Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 1:16 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
My apologies.


Accepted. I'll be happy to review your aircraft again when you make the necessary changes to the wings. Good luck!


Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 1:20 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting P. Andrei
Yeah, I was asking about territory bonuses. As Keith said attacks are done in the order they were initiated, so if Tom attacked me first by the time my attack happens, I'd have one less territory and he'd have one extra.

Basically the question is whether speed plays any role other than being unable to attack a territory that was already attacked.

Your MILPO, territorial bonus and resource bonus do NOT change within the scope of a single turn. If you start the turn with 50 points of resources and 30 points worth of territories, those numbers do not change.

Attack Window speed only matters if you're trying to get to a specific territory first, or trying to eliminate a player before he can initiate an attack. There might be other reasons but those are the big ones.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 1:24 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting W Navarre
When exactly is the next Attack Window? I think I heard that it happens on Fridays at 1:00, and I would guess that's EST? It lasts 24 hours right?

The next Attack Window opens this Friday 4/13/18 at 1pm(PDT) and will remain open for 24 hours. All times for DA3 are PDT.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 1:25 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting W Navarre
Here's another question. When you say Machine Gun Turret what all does this involve? Is an anti-aircraft gun turret valid? Sorry, this is mostly just my lack of familiarity with these military terminologies.

A machine gun turret is a weapon mount that houses the crew or mechanism of a projectile-firing weapon and at the same time lets the weapon be aimed and fired in some degree of azimuth and elevation (cone of fire). If you Google "vehicle, machine gun turret" you'll see many examples. You could also look at the group pool and see what's been accepted for the category.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 1:29 pm
This question is kind of odd, and the answer probably won’t affect my builds, but I was just thinking, only category 3 specifies being built at nanoscale, and the other categories require figures, meaning they can’t be nanoscale. But are other categories required to be at minifigures scale? Like could you use Lego Games microfigures or build everything at the scale of bionicle/hero factory figures? I was just wondering, as I thought an army of microfigures would be downright hilarious.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 1:43 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Black_Wind 8319
This question is kind of odd, and the answer probably won’t affect my builds, but I was just thinking, only category 3 specifies being built at nanoscale, and the other categories require figures, meaning they can’t be nanoscale. But are other categories required to be at minifigures scale? Like could you use Lego Games microfigures or build everything at the scale of bionicle/hero factory figures? I was just wondering, as I thought an army of microfigures would be downright hilarious.

If the SPEC requires minifigs then there is no wiggle-room except for minifig scale droids that have appeared in some MOCs. This round of SPECs was extremely minifig-centric but that won't be the case with the next round. I predict you'll get your chance eventually.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 1:53 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
If the SPEC requires minifigs then there is no wiggle-room except for minifig scale droids that have appeared in some MOCs. This round of SPECs was extremely minifig-centric but that won't be the case with the next round. I predict you'll get your chance eventually.

Okay, thanks. Now all I need to do is get a lot of microfigures...
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 2:19 pm
Can the first territory a person tries to inhabit be an occupied one, or must the first territory always be a blank territory? Thanks for all the answers!
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 2:40 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting W Navarre
Can the first territory a person tries to inhabit be an occupied one, or must the first territory always be a blank territory? Thanks for all the answers!

No. You must have at least 1 territory on the map in order to attack another player.

Good question though, I don't think anyone has ever tried or even considered that tactic.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 2:56 pm
If there is DA4,can we do away with the WC?
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 3:52 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Northern Imperial AKA-Lord Bacca
If there is DA4,can we do away with the WC?

I doubt it, I happen to like the WC and the dimension it adds to the game, but DA4 is about the last thing I want to think about or talk about right now.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 4:09 pm
Copy that
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 4:16 pm
Sorry boss, one more, can we get a bigger map if there is a next time?
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 4:39 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Northern Imperial AKA-Lord Bacca
Sorry boss, one more, can we get a bigger map if there is a next time?

Without Rutherford I'm not sure there will be a next time but sure, that's something we can look into. When planning DA3 we thought we would be lucky to get 25 players and probably more like 20 considering the state of MOCpages. The turnout this year has been very surprising and the map became crowded more quickly than we anticipated. On the upside, early aggression will be rewarded and this time around friendship will not be so magic.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 4:42 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Without Rutherford I'm not sure there will be a next time but sure, that's something we can look into. When planning DA3 we thought we would be lucky to get 25 players and probably more like 20 considering the state of MOCpages. The turnout this year has been very surprising.

I'm willing to help. Can you imagine, Me, on DAS.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 4:44 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Northern Imperial AKA-Lord Bacca
I'm willing to help. Can you imagine, Me, on DAS.

No. Not so much, although I appreciate the offer.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 4:45 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Without Rutherford I'm not sure there will be a next time but sure, that's something we can look into. When planning DA3 we thought we would be lucky to get 25 players and probably more like 20 considering the state of MOCpages. The turnout this year has been very surprising and the map became crowded more quickly than we anticipated. On the upside, early aggression will be rewarded and this time around friendship will not be so magic.

If there's something I can do to help for DA4 let me know. I'd like to lend a hand if I can. This experience of DA3 is a treasure and if I can "pay it forward" as it were, I'd be glad to.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 4:58 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Zach Sweigart
If there's something I can do to help for DA4 let me know. I'd like to lend a hand if I can. This experience of DA3 is a treasure and if I can "pay it forward" as it were, I'd be glad to.

I really appreciate the offer Zach, and I'm sure when enough time passes I might have a different outlook about DA4. I'd hate to see you off the battlefield though, we were hoping for some new blood to really take the veterans to the wall, and you've provided that in spades.

Whenever a game ends we typically have a debrief where interested players talk about what went right and wrong, and suggestions for next time. If you're still interested we'll talk about it then and see what kind of team we could put together for DA4. That way you have a full picture of what it's like to see a full game unfold and I'll have a better idea of my own situation. I don't mean to be dismissive or non-committal but it feels like this marathon just got started and we've already had some rough spots. It's difficult for me to fully engage with the idea of the next iteration.

Again though, I do appreciate the offer.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 5:09 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
I really appreciate the offer Zach, and I'm sure when enough time passes I might have a different outlook about DA4. I'd hate to see you off the battlefield though, we were hoping for some new blood to really take the veterans to the wall, and you've provided that in spades.

Whenever a game ends we typically have a debrief where interested players talk about what went right and wrong, and suggestions for next time. If you're still interested we'll talk about it then and see what kind of team we could put together for DA4. That way you have a full picture of what it's like to see a full game unfold and I'll have a better idea of my own situation. I don't mean to be dismissal or non-committal but it feels like this marathon just got started and we've already had some rough spots. It's difficult for me to fully engage with the idea of the next iteration.

Again though, I do appreciate the offer.

No problem. I totally understand. I'll be here!
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 5:16 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman

I and (I believe) plenty of us fully understand too.

I wanted to encourage you for THIS iteration of DA. Even with those rough spots, it's been a wonderful experience so far once again and I can not thank you enough for the time and commitment you put into this.
You rock man, hang on!
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 7:39 pm
What if my buddy icon refuses to work? Has it by any chance changed for anybody else, because for me it hasn't, even though I changed it three hours ago... might give it another try now.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 7:46 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman

I thank you as well, Goldman. My motivation to build with LEGO was waning, but Decisive Action brought me back. It's certainly stressful, but not unenjoyable.
Thanks for that, and for putting up with my questions.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 7:49 pm
Try clearing browser cache, should do the trick.
Quoting W Navarre
What if my buddy icon refuses to work? Has it by any chance changed for anybody else, because for me it hasn't, even though I changed it three hours ago... might give it another try now.


Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 7:54 pm
Quoting Pico van Grootveld

Try clearing browser cache... sorry, lost me there, haha! I'm not too techy I'm afraid.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 7:57 pm
Quoting W Navarre
Try clearing browser cache... sorry, lost me there, haha! I'm not too techy I'm afraid.

If you're on a mobile device, clear browser history.

https://www.zyxware.com/articles/3678/how-to-clear-cache-on-various-browsers-and-their-key-board-shortcuts
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 8:02 pm
Quoting W Navarre
Try clearing browser cache... sorry, lost me there, haha! I'm not too techy I'm afraid.

On Chrome + Windows : hit ctrl+F5
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 8:05 pm
Thank you guys! Made it super easy for me.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 8:41 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting W Navarre
What if my buddy icon refuses to work? Has it by any chance changed for anybody else, because for me it hasn't, even though I changed it three hours ago... might give it another try now.

As far as the game goes, you're good to go with your buddy icon, I can see it fine. The guys gave you good advice about how to clear your history and I'm sure you'll figure it out but as far as the specification, you're in.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 8:41 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Tom Remy
I and (I believe) plenty of us fully understand too.

I wanted to encourage you for THIS iteration of DA. Even with those rough spots, it's been a wonderful experience so far once again and I can not thank you enough for the time and commitment you put into this.
You rock man, hang on!

Cheers Tom!
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 8:52 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Sam Sanister
I thank you as well, Goldman. My motivation to build with LEGO was waning, but Decisive Action brought me back. It's certainly stressful, but not unenjoyable.
Thanks for that, and for putting up with my questions.

Thanks Sam, no worries.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 8:52 pm
Goldilocks, love you too man, but get on the stick...we the players are here to have fun and we got your back! So...questions thread?
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 9:05 pm
I get the feeling the answer is no, but since I've made a capital but I don't have a territory on the map yet, could I place it on the map anyways, thus claiming a territory without going through the AW?
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 10:44 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting Black_Wind 8319
I get the feeling the answer is no, but since I've made a capital but I don't have a territory on the map yet, could I place it on the map anyways, thus claiming a territory without going through the AW?

No. :) Good guess.
Permalink
| April 11, 2018, 11:10 pm
 Group moderator 
If I get killed early, I'll be at your disposal Keith. I can't thank you enough for putting in all the effort. Caleb too.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 3:16 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Nick Barrett
If I get killed early, I'll be at your disposal Keith. I can't thank you enough for putting in all the effort. Caleb too.

Cheers Nick, although I have the feeling you won't be an easy out, even starting a turn late.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:54 am

Do the Islands that have special dispensation to attack without three coasts use their navies? Or does this rule make them use just their ground/air like the rest of us will?
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 2:07 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Patrick Boyle

Do the Islands that have special dispensation to attack without three coasts use their navies? Or does this rule make them use just their ground/air like the rest of us will?


Yes, players on special exception islands are able to use their navies without the 3 coastal territory rule, but only in that single sea-zone. And, they MUST have an approved Logistics Landing Craft linked to ORBAT or they cannot attack. No LLC, no attack.


Remember, you can always use your naval units to defend, unless you are landlocked. Even if you don't have 3 coastal territories you can always use your navy defensively. (PT Boats travel up rivers, fighters launch from carriers, Battleships turn guns inland..etc.)
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 2:21 pm
So all do the restrictions given in the rules for “attacking over water,” (that one must have a logistics craft, that one must have three coastal territories per SZ crossed, and that MILPO is divided by the number of SZs crossed), apply in the case of naval support of a land attack, or only in the case of an amphibious assault on a noncontiguous territory?

Example: If a player held only E10 and wished to attack E9, would he be able to use his naval MILPO?
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 2:30 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Kingdomview Bricks
So all do the restrictions given in the rules for “attacking over water,” (that one must have a logistics craft, that one must have three coastal territories per SZ crossed, and that MILPO is divided by the number of SZs crossed), apply in the case of naval support of a land attack, or only in the case of an amphibious assault on a noncontiguous territory?

Example: If a player held only E10 and wished to attack E9, would he be able to use his naval MILPO?

Yes those rules apply to any time water is involved. Not to make excuses but I didn't write that rule, nor am I a big fan of it, but that's the rule Rutherford made when designing the game and we will stick with it for this iteration. We can look at changing it for any subsequent games.

So in the case of your example, the player who only owns E10 and wants to attack E9 would not be able to use his navy in the attack.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 2:58 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Yes those rules apply to any time water is involved. Not to make excuses but I didn't write that rule, nor am I a big fan of it, but that's the rule Rutherford made when designing the game and we will stick with it for this iteration. We can look at changing it for any subsequent games.

So in the case of your example, the player who only owns E10 and wants to attack E9 would not be able to use his navy in the attack.

Well, that's a revolting development. I was thinking that that only applied to moving land troops over water, probably due to the landing craft requirement. I think that could use a bit of clarification in the rules, but then again maybe I was just being dense.

Thank you for the quick clarification!
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 3:13 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Kingdomview Bricks
Well, that's a revolting development. I was thinking that that only applied to moving land troops over water, probably due to the landing craft requirement. I think that could use a bit of clarification in the rules, but then again maybe I was just being dense.

Thank you for the quick clarification!

I agree, when things calm down a little I'll make a clarification to the rule. Thanks for your patience. And as I said, the rule may turn out to be a disaster, we'll see how it goes.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 3:15 pm
Not sure if this has been asked already, so apologies if it has.

Are there only 9 available nations left (as on the colour chart) or can people join until the map is free of empty territories?
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 6:10 pm
Actually, now that I see the above question I have a related query on sea zones and attacking. Does the sea zones crossed thing count the one you start on? For example, if a player owned C33, C32, and C31, would they be able to attack C21? And on a related note, why do C21 and C31 not share a sea zone? They're so close together.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 6:51 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Sean Burns
Not sure if this has been asked already, so apologies if it has.

Are there only 9 available nations left (as on the colour chart) or can people join until the map is free of empty territories?

No, those 9 colors are just my best options before I have to start using textures or colors that are too close in hue to existing nations. There is room for everyone...they just might not like their color.

It’s a good time to mention again that colors are subject to change (with notice) if we have nations with similar colors too close to each other and it becomes confusing.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 7:10 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting Black_Wind 8319
Actually, now that I see the above question I have a related query on sea zones and attacking. Does the sea zones crossed thing count the one you start on? For example, if a player owned C33, C32, and C31, would they be able to attack C21? And on a related note, why do C21 and C31 not share a sea zone? They're so close together.

If a player was to start on either C33, C32, or C31, they would be stuck there. Yes, the sea zone that your land territory or island sits in counts as one sea zone when crossing zones. Therefore an "island" player needs at least 6 coastal territories to cross a single sea zone border.

There are several reasons they don't touch. The first is because the map has lots of variety. Lots of opportunities for players to start on an island that do border a mainland (F15, F16, and F17 for example), but also opportunities for a player to get stuck. So close, yet so far away. Think about a dozen rounds in: players who are winning will find these water-locked islands to be decisive launching-grounds for crossing oceans, yet inaccessible to other players. They will be the strongholds of the strong nations and the terror of the weak nations.

This is Decisive Action, and what I love so much is that means the map will develop its own strategy. Watch and seize opportunity, or else learn the hard way.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:09 pm
Quoting VAkkron ™
If a player was to start on either C33, C32, or C31, they would be stuck there. Yes, the sea zone that your land territory or island sits in counts as one sea zone when crossing zones. Therefore an "island" player needs at least 6 coastal territories to cross a single sea zone border.

There are several reasons they don't touch. The first is because the map has lots of variety. Lots of opportunities for players to start on an island that do border a mainland (F15, F16, and F17 for example), but also opportunities for a player to get stuck. So close, yet so far away. Think about a dozen rounds in: players who are winning will find these water-locked islands to be decisive launching-grounds for crossing oceans, yet inaccessible to other players. They will be the strongholds of the strong nations and the terror of the weak nations.

This is Decisive Action, and what I love so much is that means the map will develop its own strategy. Watch and seize opportunity, or else learn the hard way.

Thank you. I’m glad I cleared this up now, because I was gonna start on C33!

Gotta find a new starting place...

On that note, do A5 and A7 border on sea zone Z8? It kind of looks like they do...
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:28 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Black_Wind 8319
Thank you. I’m glad I cleared this up now, because I was gonna start on C33!

Gotta find a new starting place...

On that note, do A5 and A7 border on sea zone Z8? It kind of looks like they do...

They do not. General Barrett was trapped last turn because he made that very mistake and ultimately he had to regime-change and restart. I've clarified that border several times, but it's been lost in old Questions threads. I'm glad you're asking now, as opposed to getting caught flat-footed tomorrow. Keep the good questions coming.

It may seem like there are few good options remaining for starting, but we didn't anticipate this many players and we designed the new map to push people into conflict early. Typically the game drags on for weeks without any player-vs-player action, which is what the game is all about.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:33 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
They do not. General Barrett was trapped last turn because he made that very mistake. I've clarified that border several times, but it's been lost in old Questions threads. I'm glad you're asking now, as opposed to getting caught flat-footed tomorrow. Keep the good questions coming.

okay. Darn it, if the world court wasn't on A4 the A islands would be viable... okay, so attacking overland does not include the MILPO score of PT boats and Logistics Landing craft, right? Sorry that i'm asking so many questions that probably have been asked, I really don't want to mess up. I think that's all my questions for now.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:38 pm
How many coastlines does E6 have?

Does D21 touch SZ65?
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:38 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Black_Wind 8319
okay. Darn it, if the world court wasn't on A4 the A islands would be viable... okay, so attacking overland does not include the MILPO score of PT boats and Logistics Landing craft, right? Sorry that i'm asking so many questions that probably have been asked, I really don't want to mess up. I think that's all my questions for now.

Please don't be sorry, you're new and there is a significant amount of information to absorb in a relatively short period of time. That's what we're here for, so I'd much rather have you ask even redundant questions now than be upset or disappointed later.

If you're attacking a land-locked territory your naval units are not included in your MILPO. In addition, if you don't have 3 coastal territories you can't attack over water at all. If you don't have a Logistics Landing Craft you can't attack over water either. Hope that helps, let us know if you still need clarity on any aspect of the game.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:44 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Northern Imperial AKA-Lord Bacca
How many coastlines does E6 have?

Does D21 touch SZ65?

E6 has access to SZ82 and SZ88 only.

D21 does not touch SZ65.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:46 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
Please don't be sorry, you're new and there is a significant amount of information to absorb in a relatively short period of time. That's what we're here for, so I'd much rather have you ask even redundant questions now than be upset or disappointed later.

If you're attacking a land-locked territory your naval units are not included in your MILPO. In addition, if you don't have 3 coastal territories you can't attack over water at all. If you don't have a Logistics Landing Craft you can't attack over water either. Hope that helps, let us know if you still need clarity on any aspect of the game.


okay, so if a player attacked from, say, C1 to C2, neither of which are landlocked, but are both adjacent, would the PT boat/Logistics landing craft add to the MILPO due to their adjacent coastline, or would they not?
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:49 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Black_Wind 8319

okay, so if a player attacked from, say, C1 to C2, neither of which are landlocked, but are both adjacent, would the PT boat/Logistics landing craft add to the MILPO due to their adjacent coastline, or would they not?

In that example, if a player only owns C1, he or she would not be able to use naval weapons of any kind, only land and air. HOWEVER, the defender (C2) would be able to use their naval units to defend, even though they lack the number of territories required to use that same navy offensively. PT boats and landing craft can go up rivers, fighters can launch off of carriers and battleship guns can be turned inland for example)

so C1 would be able to use it's Mechanized Infantry and Ground Attack Aircraft.

C2 would be able to defend with both of those, plus the PT Boat and the Logistics Landing craft.

When designing the game, Rutherford wanted to make it very difficult to attack across water.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:54 pm
Question regarding position on the map and tactical awareness in the DAS.

Will I get banned from the group if I call you Goldilocks? Asking for a friend. XDDDD
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:55 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
In that example, if a player only owns C1, he or she would not be able to use naval weapons of any kind, only land and air. HOWEVER, the defender (C2) would be able to use their naval units to defend, even though they lack the number of territories required to use that same navy offensively. PT boats and landing craft can go up rivers, fighters can launch off of carriers and battleship guns can be turned inland for example)

so C1 would be able to use it's Mechanized Infantry and Ground Attack Aircraft.

C2 would be able to defend with both of those, plus the PT Boat and the Logistics Landing craft.

When designing the game, Rutherford wanted to make it very difficult to attack across water.


Okay then. That clears up a lot. Time to go stare at the map again.

If I may ask, why did Rutherford leave?
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 9:58 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting matt rowntRee
Question regarding position on the map and tactical awareness in the DAS.

Will I get banned from the group if I call you Goldilocks? Asking for a friend. XDDDD


Don't do it roonTree. Don't roll the dice if you can't pay the price...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HNWhVXcjV8

And if Ron calls me that again, I'm gonna put the Kaiju right on top of A1.

Keep your eye on the sparrow.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 10:50 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman

Don't do it roonTree. Don't roll the dice if you can't pay the price...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5HNWhVXcjV8

And if Ron calls me that again, I'm gonna put the Kaiju right on top of A1.

Keep your eye on the sparrow.

Kaiju, meteors, hazmats...oh my!
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 10:53 pm
Sorry Alex, can I convert that to a question?
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 10:54 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Black_Wind 8319
If I may ask, why did Rutherford leave?

That's a fair question, but it's not one that I really care to get too deep into because I don't really know the full story yet, I don't want to speak for Rutherford and I'm already tired of the topic.

Michael's departure is unfortunate because he's funny, as the creator he has the best understanding of the rules, and he brought some authentic (if occasionally exaggerated) military flavor to the group that is impossible to duplicate. DA3 is not better for his absence and if it were up to me, he'd still be here.

As for why he left, all I can tell you is that he said he was no longer willing to support the way I was leading the group and quickly made it apparent that he wasn't even willing to communicate in any way. He mentioned some other frustrations with group members that don't merit going into detail, it serves no constructive purpose. That's it, that's all I know. The ending was abrupt and it was final, and I have yet to communicate with him since his departure. TLDR: he rage quit and factors outside the game no doubt played a part but I can't say what those might be.

So...It is not my intention to minimize Mike's exit but this topic has lost all interest to me. He left. Caleb and I chose to stay because it seemed like the right thing to do for the players who have already invested time and energy (149 MOCs and climbing) and we would like to see the game played, it can be a lot of fun.

This is the last time I will address this topic unless I have some new information. I don't have any contact info for Mike that I'm at liberty to share, and his Flickr account is also gone.

The way is forward.
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 11:29 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman
That's a fair question, but it's not one that I really care to get too deep into because I don't really know the full story yet, I don't want to speak for Rutherford and I'm already tired of the topic.

Michael's departure is unfortunate because he's funny, as the creator he has the best understanding of the rules, and he brought some authentic (if occasionally exaggerated) military flavor to the group that is impossible to duplicate. DA3 is not better for his absence and if it were up to me, he'd still be here.

As for why he left, all I can tell you is that he said he was no longer willing to support the way I was leading the group and quickly made it apparent that he wasn't even willing to communicate in any way. He mentioned some other frustrations with group members that don't merit going into detail, it serves no constructive purpose. That's it, that's all I know. The ending was abrupt and it was final, and I have yet to communicate with him since his departure. TLDR: he rage quit and factors outside the game no doubt played a part but I can't say what those might be.

So...It is not my intention to minimize Mike's exit but this topic has lost all interest to me. He left. Caleb and I chose to stay because it seemed like the right thing to do for the players who have already invested time and energy (149 MOCs and climbing) and we would like to see the game played, it can be a lot of fun.

This is the last time I will address this topic unless I have some new information. I don't have any contact info for Mike that I'm at liberty to share, and his Flickr account is also gone.

The way is forward.

Okay. That's unfortunate, but i'm glad you and Caleb are all for it still, this has been really fun so far and i seriously look forward to the next few months of conquest-I mean mutually diplomatic treaties...
Permalink
| April 12, 2018, 11:55 pm
Quoting Keith Goldman

so C1 would be able to use it's Mechanized Infantry and Ground Attack Aircraft.

C2 would be able to defend with both of those, plus the PT Boat and the Logistics Landing craft.

When designing the game, Rutherford wanted to make it very difficult to attack across water.


First of all, thanks Keith & Caleb for keeping things going in spite of the backstage drama. I think I speak for all the players in saying that we really appreciate the remarkable time and effort you are investing.

Secondly I do actually have a question related to the answer above. So, if a player 1 on any land-locked territory attacks player 2 on a coastal territory (e.g. F7 to F10, to give a hypothetical example) does the same apply - i.e. Player 2 includes naval power in their defensive MILPO?

Secondly, what about if said Player 1 also controls F2, F3 & F4, so they have 3 coastal territories but none are adjacent to F10. Does that mean their naval power still cannot be used in attack?

I think the answer to both of these questions is yes, just clarifying.

Permalink
| April 13, 2018, 2:49 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Stuart Lucas

First of all, thanks Keith & Caleb for keeping things going in spite of the backstage drama. I think I speak for all the players in saying that we really appreciate the remarkable time and effort you are investing.

Secondly I do actually have a question related to the answer above. So, if a player 1 on any land-locked territory attacks player 2 on a coastal territory (e.g. F7 to F10, to give a hypothetical example) does the same apply - i.e. Player 2 includes naval power in their defensive MILPO?

Secondly, what about if said Player 1 also controls F2, F3 & F4, so they have 3 coastal territories but none are adjacent to F10. Does that mean their naval power still cannot be used in attack?

I think the answer to both of these questions is yes, just clarifying.

No worries Stuart, I appreciate your support.

That's a good point of clarification. Yes, the same conditions would apply and the defender would be able to use his or her navy. Rutherford was quite clear about this concept when he was designing this iteration and we're going to at least give it a chance for a few turns. I fully admit it might not be the best rule, but that's the one we're going with and see how it sorts out. His thinking was that the defender should always be able to use naval assets...so we'll try it.
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 2:07 pm
https://brickset.com/sets/4297-1/Lightning-Streak
Is the drivers body considered a mini figure? Is the orange part the head is attached to. I have two black ones of those sitting around just waiting to be used
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:24 pm
Is C15 considered a coastal territory?
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:31 pm
So, for CAT #10, the wings have to be able to move, correct?
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:31 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting General Gunn ~
https://brickset.com/sets/4297-1/Lightning-Streak
Is the drivers body considered a mini figure? Is the orange part the head is attached to. I have two black ones of those sitting around just waiting to be used

No, that wouldn't qualify as a minifigure. Haven't seen those before, neat find!

I'm sure that part could be used for angles and shaping many ways. I look forward to spotting it in your MOCs!
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:44 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting Zach Sweigart
Is C15 considered a coastal territory?

Yes, it touches SZ37. I do not believe it touches SZ38.
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:46 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting The Supreme Soggy Overlord of Moist Melons
So, for CAT #10, the wings have to be able to move, correct?

Yes, that is the easiest and best interpretation of the rules. Be sure to visibly show the wings in different positions though. The ability to move must be complemented by photo evidence.
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:48 pm
Quoting VAkkron ™
No, that wouldn't qualify as a minifigure. Haven't seen those before, neat find!

I'm sure that part could be used for angles and shaping many ways. I look forward to spotting it in your MOCs!

May i use them as little figures? Not as apart of the minifig specs
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:49 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting General Gunn ~
May i use them as little figures? Not as apart of the minifig specs

Of course. Satisfy the specs and you are fine. Unless there's something really weird, but I would accept seeing those as supplementary characters.
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:51 pm
Quoting VAkkron ™
Of course. Satisfy the specs and you are fine. Unless there's something really weird, but I would accept seeing those as supplementary characters.

Woot woot! I also have this wacky piece i wanna use :D
https://brickset.com/parts/6092821
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 6:56 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting VAkkron ™
Yes, it touches SZ37. I do not believe it touches SZ38.

That is correct.
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 7:37 pm
Two questions. First, we can make dioramas for our vehicles, correct? And second, if I make a small update to my APC, for example, am I not allowed to edit that into the already posted build?
Permalink
| April 14, 2018, 9:29 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting W Navarre
Two questions. First, we can make dioramas for our vehicles, correct? And second, if I make a small update to my APC, for example, am I not allowed to edit that into the already posted build?

1. Yes

2. You are allowed to make small updates to existing MOCs, the operative word being 'small'. Anything substantial will require a separate posting.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 12:50 am
Quoting Keith Goldman
E6 has access to SZ82 and SZ88 only.

D21 does not touch SZ65.

Does this mean E6 has 2 coastlines?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 6:25 am
Are we placing our attacks in the same Attack Window thread we used for the first AW?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 10:19 am
Once someone is knocked off the map, assuming there are still some white territories left, can they join back in the he next AW without a regime change?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 10:53 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Northern Imperial AKA-Lord Bacca
Does this mean E6 has 2 coastlines?

Yes, but don't read any special meaning into that, it doesn't count as 2 for the purposes of having 3 coastal territories to attack across water. It touches 2 separate Sea Zones Z82 and Z88.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 11:20 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Zach Sweigart
Are we placing our attacks in the same Attack Window thread we used for the first AW?

Yes. Once the Adjustment Bureau closes for the previous AW I delete all the entries. We use the same AW thread for the entire game.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 11:22 am
 Group admin 
Quoting James Douglas
Once someone is knocked off the map, assuming there are still some white territories left, can they join back in the he next AW without a regime change?

NO. Once a nation is eliminated from the game, the player must build a new nation from the ground up (flag, mech infantry).
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 11:23 am
Quoting Keith Goldman
Yes. So long as there are white territories on the map, we accept new nations


"Without a regime change?" Or do they need to start a new country?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 11:26 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Patrick Boyle

"Without a regime change?" Or do they need to start a new country?

I missed that part of his question...no coffee yet for me. I fixed my answer to him, but if you're eliminated from the game you have to start all over again, new flag, new mechanized infantry, etc.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 11:35 am
Question:

Are the number of territories and number of coastal territories owned by each player locked in at the start of an AW, like MILPO, or are they evaluated at the moment of each individual attack? To put it another way, suppose that a player starts an AW with 3 coastal territories and commits to an over-the-water attack (1 sea zone only). If he loses one of those coastal territories before his attack is resolved, is his attack null and void?

Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 12:28 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Mark B.
Question:

Are the number of territories and number of coastal territories owned by each player locked in at the start of an AW, like MILPO, or are they evaluated at the moment of each individual attack? To put it another way, suppose that a player starts an AW with 3 coastal territories and commits to an over-the-water attack (1 sea zone only). If he loses one of those coastal territories before his attack is resolved, is his attack null and void?

The number of territories are locked in at the start of the AW and do not change over the course of the turn.

Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 12:41 pm
For the pt boat, must all minifigures be present on the boat in one picture? Or can i just show 1-2 minifigs each pic?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 12:44 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
For the pt boat, must all minifigures be present on the boat in one picture? Or can i just show 1-2 minifigs each pic?

No, the crew doesn't have to be shown all at once in a single photo.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 1:05 pm
MILPO is based on the likes at the beginning of an AW, correct?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 3:50 pm
 Group moderator 
For the aircraft, would a pod-mounted Jet engine (like on the wings of a 747) count as an air intake ?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 5:14 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Kingdomview Bricks
MILPO is based on the likes at the beginning of an AW, correct?

No. MILPO is based on the likes when I calculate the battles.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 5:29 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Nick Barrett
For the aircraft, would a pod-mounted Jet engine (like on the wings of a 747) count as an air intake ?

Yes.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 5:29 pm
Did you move the SPECs release dates when you moved up the first AW?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 7:29 pm
 Group moderator 
Quoting Sam Sanister
Did you move the SPECs release dates when you moved up the first AW?

No, purely because we don't know that it won't happen again. Obviously we will never run an AW early, but we might delay them in the future due to outages or staff availability. So if we were to stack all those missing days up, it would just get confusing. The dates in the spec thread stand, unless MOCpages is actually down during one of the mentioned days.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 7:39 pm
Can MOCs be re-pictured if the previous similar MOC had bad picture quality?
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 11:30 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Emrick Ninja
Can MOCs be re-pictured if the previous similar MOC had bad picture quality?

Yes, so long as you don't modify the design of the MOC too much. "Too much" is subjective and will be determined entirely by the DAS.
Permalink
| April 15, 2018, 11:46 pm
Rules say that MILPO is halved in any attack across water, so an attack from an island to a territory one water place away divides the MIPLO by two, correct? Even if the island is the starting place and thus exempted from the three territories rule?
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 7:43 am
Another question. If one starts on an island one can attack across one sea zone without the three coastal territories, but what happens after the person gets a second territory? Like they now have an island and one normal coastal territory; can they attack from the normal coastal territory across one sea zone? Can they only across sea zones attack from the island (until they get a third coastal territory)? Or are they then subject in full force to the three coastal territories rule?
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 8:48 am
Quoting Northern Imperial AKA-Lord Bacca
W Navarre, has an incorrect ORBAT.

What, do I have a comma where there shouldn't be one? (Sorry, belongs in the smack thread, but hey it was a question too, haha!) Seriously, what's wrong? And why did you say this in the questions thread?
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 9:02 am
I just wanted to confirm something that seems a little screwy to me:

Consider the following situation: Player Alpha occupies C32 and can defend it with a total effective MILPO of 2. Player Bravo occupies C31 and can attack C32 with a total effective MILPO of 1. Player Charlie occupies C33 and can attack C32 with a total effective MILPO of 1,000,000. As long as Player Bravo succeeds in declaring his (ineffective) attack on C32 before Player Charlie does, Player Charlie is shut out and cannot attack C32. In essence, this tactic allows a weak player to be defended by an even weaker player against an attack by an arbitrarily powerful player. I'm pretty sure that I've applied all rules correctly, but that seems really counterintuitive to me. Is this scenario, as I've described it, correct?

Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 9:47 am
 Group admin 
Quoting W Navarre
Rules say that MILPO is halved in any attack across water, so an attack from an island to a territory one water place away divides the MIPLO by two, correct? Even if the island is the starting place and thus exempted from the three territories rule?

A players MILPO is divided by the number of sea zones crossed when attacking. This is the number of sea territories between the nearest attackers territory and the territory they attack. The exempted islands still have to adhere to this rule if they cross more than the initial sea zone. If you want to give me a specific example it might work better because I'm not sure I understand the question.
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 10:14 am
 Group admin 
Quoting W Navarre
Another question. If one starts on an island one can attack across one sea zone without the three coastal territories, but what happens after the person gets a second territory? Like they now have an island and one normal coastal territory; can they attack from the normal coastal territory across one sea zone? Can they only across sea zones attack from the island (until they get a third coastal territory)? Or are they then subject in full force to the three coastal territories rule?

No, they can only get the special ability for that initial sea zone. They are subject to the 3 territory rule for anything beyond that initial exempted island.
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 10:15 am
 Group admin 
Quoting W Navarre
What, do I have a comma where there shouldn't be one? (Sorry, belongs in the smack thread, but hey it was a question too, haha!) Seriously, what's wrong? And why did you say this in the questions thread?

Please ignore Bacca, there is nothing he likes better than to tattle on players to the DAS. If he spent half as much time on building effective weapons he'd actually be a threat in the game. When the ORBAT opens you should fix the resource mistake but I already told General Sparrow in the Priority Coms thread that I wouldn't count it against him and the same holds true for you. Get it fixed, but it won't void your attack.
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 10:17 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Mark B.
I just wanted to confirm something that seems a little screwy to me:

Consider the following situation: Player Alpha occupies C32 and can defend it with a total effective MILPO of 2. Player Bravo occupies C31 and can attack C32 with a total effective MILPO of 1. Player Charlie occupies C33 and can attack C32 with a total effective MILPO of 1,000,000. As long as Player Bravo succeeds in declaring his (ineffective) attack on C32 before Player Charlie does, Player Charlie is shut out and cannot attack C32. In essence, this tactic allows a weak player to be defended by an even weaker player against an attack by an arbitrarily powerful player. I'm pretty sure that I've applied all rules correctly, but that seems really counterintuitive to me. Is this scenario, as I've described it, correct?

You've got it right, but I've never seen that situation arise in previous games. That's not to say that it couldn't but I don't see it as being a big problem. As you've no doubt noticed the game is not perfect and not every contingency is planned for. The solution to the problem you described is for Player Charlie to get his attack in first. Screwy or not, I'm not going to change the rules at this point to address your concern.
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 10:22 am
Quoting Keith Goldman
A players MILPO is divided by the number of sea zones crossed when attacking. This is the number of sea territories between the nearest attackers territory and the territory they attack. The exempted islands still have to adhere to this rule if they cross more than the initial sea zone. If you want to give me a specific example it might work better because I'm not sure I understand the question.

Yeah, you answered my question. I just hadn't caught on before, but now realized that if the MILPO is divided by the number of sea zones across which I attack then attacking across one sea zone divides by 1. Wow, I'm such a math whiz. Thank you!
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 10:41 am
Quoting Keith Goldman
You've got it right, but I've never seen that situation arise in previous games. That's not to say that it couldn't but I don't see it as being a big problem. As you've no doubt noticed the game is not perfect and not every contingency is planned for. The solution to the problem you described is for Player Charlie to get his attack in first. Screwy or not, I'm not going to change the rules at this point to address your concern.

I wasn't expecting a rules change. I just wanted to make sure I had it right, since it seems to place a disproportionate amount of importance on the timing of attack declarations. I can see rules applications like this, along with the many adjacent coastal territories that do not share the same sea zone, creating logjams and stalemates all over the map - which might actually be the intent.
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 10:54 am
 Group admin 
Quoting Mark B.
I wasn't expecting a rules change. I just wanted to make sure I had it right, since it seems to place a disproportionate amount of importance on the timing of attack declarations. I can see rules applications like this, along with the many adjacent coastal territories that do not share the same sea zone, creating logjams and stalemates all over the map - which might actually be the intent.

When the game is over I sincerely hope you stick around for the debrief and offer some suggestions for improvements, you seem to have a good eye for detail where the game mechanics are concerned.
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 12:51 pm
For the PT boat, do sea mines count as a secondary weapon system?
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 2:52 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting Sam Sanister
For the PT boat, do sea mines count as a secondary weapon system?

Yes.
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 2:56 pm
Quoting Sam Sanister
For the PT boat, do sea mines count as a secondary weapon system?

Ooooh good idea. How about surface to air missiles and the boat is the surface
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 2:57 pm
 Group admin 
Quoting General Gunn ~
Ooooh good idea. How about surface to air missiles and the boat is the surface

The style of secondary weapon is at the discretion of the player.
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 3:02 pm
 Group admin 
And that concludes the lightning round, stay tuned for another thrilling exchange of questions and answers in 3...2...1...
Permalink
| April 16, 2018, 7:49 pm
Group moderators have locked this conversation.
Other topics
QUESTIONS? 5: Ravager Updated Tuesday
World Court VOTE Updated today
Memorial Cemetary Updated today
The Adjustment Bureau Updated today
ATTACK WINDOW: Updated today



LEGO models my own creation MOCpages toys shop DA3: Beyond Thunderdome Military


You Your home page | LEGO creations | Favorite builders
Activity Activity | Comments | Creations
Explore Explore | Recent | Groups
MOCpages is an unofficial, fan-created website. LEGO® and the brick configuration are property of The LEGO Group, which does not sponsor, own, or endorse this site.
©2002-2018 Sean Kenney Design Inc | Privacy policy | Terms of use